Foreign Office & Executive: Treaties

During the nineteenth century, the Hawaiian Kingdom was an internationally recognized sovereign nation as evidenced by its treaties with numerous countries including, for example, Austria-Hungary, Denmark, Italy, Portugal, Russia, Switzerland, and Japan. As such, this remarkable collection is of great importance and value.

We are working collaboratively with the Hawaiʻi State Archives to digitize all treaties, and treaty negotiations contained in the Foreign Office and Executive collection. We currently have a total of 77 files containing 6,016 individual images spanning a time period from 1826 to 1889. Materials in this collection include treaties with Austria, Belgium, Bremen, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Great Britain, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Portugal, Prussia, Russia, Samoa, Spain, Sweden and Norway, Switzerland, and the United States. The original documents may be found using the Hawaiʻi State Archives Foreign Office and Executive Finding Aid (Series 56 - 62).

Please click on the following links to access this digitized collection.

Treaties by Country:
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bremen
  • China
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Germany
  • Great Britain
  • Hong Kong
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Netherlands
  • Portugal
  • Prussia
  • Russia
  • Samoa
  • Spain
  • Sweden and Norway
  • Switzerland
  • United States